Makeup / Personal

My Summer Must Have!

Summer makeup can indeed be a hassle. Luckily for me, the makeup I use in the winter suits my skin all year round! As the year comes to an end, my shades of makeup seem to be a bit darker due to the fair complexion I have especially in the Fall/Winter season. However, ladies, in the Summer you can tone down on the makeup and use lighter foundations as your skin becomes tanner. Personally, these are my must have makeup essentials when I am headed for a night out in town or even a simple brunch. Everyone has their own makeup techniques and there is no exact right or wrong way to do it. Various makeup tutorials on YouTube are great ways to learn but feel free to be risky and attempt new ways to do new things.  Below are the images to my favorite makeup products and as you can tell…I am in love with all different brands of cosmetics! From Bobbi Brown to Estée Lauder there is a wide variety in what I use for specific reasons.

  • Bobbi Brown Vitamin Enriched Face Base: $52.00
  • Smashbox Photo-Finish Foundation Primer: $36.00
  • Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Foundation: $47.00
  • Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer: $33.00
  • MAC Skinfinish Powder: $36.00
  • Estée Lauder Pure Color Blush: $30.00
  • Sephora Stila Eye Shadow Palette: $18.00
  • Lancôme Black Mascara: $27.00
  • MAC Hot Fuchsia Pink Lipstick: $15.00
  • Total: $294.00 …. HOLY S***!

Yes, I am aware that this total seems RIDICULOUS!  There is no way that I pay full price on these items! Also be aware that these are the prices for the full sized items. You do not have to buy a large foundation primer. Instead you can buy two small ones for $15.00 each and save $6.00 on your purchase. What I like to do, as an avid shopper at Lancôme is buy a perfume or any skin lotion and get their complementary gifts. Their gifts are honestly the only way I get my mascara, makeup remover and other goodies. You probably don’t believe me, but I NEVER bought any mascara in my twenty years of  life! I have always been able to get the Lancôme gift and use their mascara as well as some trendy eyeshadow palettes. So if you do not want to waste your money, I suggest getting these fabulous gifts and not purchase any eyeshadow, mascara, lipstick, and/or makeup remover!

Obviously, Bobbi Brown is a pricey cosmetic line as you can see by the totals above. However, it is a great vitamin enriched line that not only makes you look fabulous but replenishes your skin so it can always feel fresh. Previously I have also used Lancôme foundation which I enjoyed and am now on the Bobbi Brown wave. I like to test out new lines to see which suit my skin the best. Sticking to one brand that you like is good but safe. You never know, there could be another line that you might enjoy even more! Also you can always save up money by correlating your next purchases. If you buy a cosmetic piece that is a little more expensive for your taste, save up on an outfit piece by shopping at lower priced stores such as Forever 21. It is a great way to save your money and always seem to be balanced. It is something I like to do and the great thing about makeup is that it can last for a long time so it is not something you are constantly spending your money on.

So now you know it! When I’m shopping at Zara, it is because I have no makeup to buy for awhile! But if you see me online shopping and constantly on Retail Me Not, yes…makeup has been purchased!

What are some of your favorite makeup purchases? Send us some photos in some of your favorite looks showing off your trendy outfit or chic makeup!

Leave a Reply

